Homework

Hi all,

Didn’t want you to think I had forgotten about the blog.  Barbara has given out a homework assignment that has been taking much of my focus.  It’s “due” Thursday night.  Given that this homework moves me in the direction of getting my book written, it’s all good. 

Barbara Sher is brilliant!  The fact that I’m being mentored by such an amazingly insightful, dedicated, talented, and kind hearted woman is…well a dream come true.  It motivates me.  She seems to see in me even more than I can sometimes see in myself.  I want to live up to that vision she has of me for the both of us. 

More importantly, I want to live up to what she sees in me because I feel like I have something important to offer.

This is something I’m addressing in my book.  When you find your purpose it’s really something that’s both bigger than you and for more than just self gratification.

Don’t get me wrong, it feels great to know my purpose.  It also comes, I’m learning, with all my old worries and fears and even a few new ones.  The difference is, it doesn’t matter nearly as much as it once did. 

I have a small poster of writer/poet Audre Lorde. Her arms are raised up with a great quote over her head:

“When I dare to be powerful-
to use my strength in the service of my vision,
then it becomes less and less important
whether I am afraid.”

I have had this little poster since my 30th birthday, exactly 14 years now, and I believe I am finally growing into that quote.

With that I’ll go and put my nose back into my homework.

 

 

Leave a Reply

