Just an Expression

So I have this great book “Word and Phrase Origins” by Robert Hendrickson, that I look at nearly everyday.  Undoubtedly, I or someone will say some figure of speech or expression and I’ll want to look up.  Today at breakfast, for example, a woman sitting behind us was talking about her sons lack of a “nest egg.”  (Listen lady, he’s not alone!)

nestegg-1.jpg

From the book: Nest egg…”People saved nest eggs as early as the 17th century.  The expression relates to the pottery eggs once put in hens’ nests to induce the hens to lay their own eggs.  Persons who start saving a nest egg put a little money (like a porcelain egg) aside, which encourages them to save more.  Maybe that woman needs to put some monopoly money into her son’s savings account.

4 responses to “Just an Expression

  1. Rachel,
    I love how your Blog shows a capsulated version of the website links for Barbara, Patty, etc. I’d love to find out how you did those. Maybe we can talk next week.

    Beth

  2. I am so glad I finally made to your blog, cause it ROCKS! how informative and enjoyable! thanks for the cake photo too, very lovely and thoughtful.
    looking forward to more,
    XOXO’
    Lynnie

  3. I am so glad I finally made to your blog, cause it ROCKS! how informative and enjoyable! thanks for the cake photo too, very lovely and thoughtful.
    looking forward to more,
    XOXO’
    Lynnie

  4. Thanks for drawing my attention to the greeting from Emily. Hi Emily, good to hear from you even if only a couple of words.
    From a slightly prejudiced dad….keep up the good work, Rachie. I’ve known you all of your xx years and didn’t know this side of you.
    May I have permission to send some love?
    Dad

Leave a Reply

